“Just have a little Patience….”

Oh how i wish that this lyric was as easy to live out as it is to listen to! This is possibly my favorite Take That song, I love the way it builds, the subtle yet powerful harmonies, that unearthly note that Gary hits in the chorus, but the whole theme of the song is something that I personally struggle with.

For as long as I can remember I have hated waiting for anything, I’ve hated waiting for food to be cooked, i hated waiting to find out what the black smoke was in Lost, i even hated waiting for this page to load so i could start writing.  I would say that i have a TV, Movie or Music quote for every situation in my life which i have always viewed as a great thing and I still do to some degree, but i wonder if having pop culture and american teen flicks ingrained into my subconscious is a mixed blessing. While i love that i can drop a well timed punchline taken from Friends or Parks and Rec, i find it hard to understand that everything is not easy as it seems on TV and that things take effort and hard work.

Whilst growing up and still to this day my favorite movie was Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, this movie is a great mix of whitty comedy, genius innuendo’s and silly teenage jokes, but throughout the movie everything works out for the hero ‘Ferris Bueller’ he gets to drive nice cars, eat in fancy restaurants and  sing The Beatles while a top a parade float, it just comes together for him so easily and that is how i thought life would be for me, just everything would work out and be easy.

Holding this type of character at hero status in my life could be why I hate doing things twice to make sure its right or the reason i hate waiting for things because the picture i am constantly given is that things in life will come easy. Now don’t get me wrong i would much rather watch Matthew Brodderick mess about on his day off than watch some dude read through his grammar corrections at his desk and creating spreadsheets but the point I’m trying to make is that I think what we watch shapes who we are more than we think.

For a very long time i based my internal moral code and philosophy on what TV and Movies had taught me, “Life moves pretty fast, if you don’t stop and take a look around once in a while you might miss it”, “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”, “Life aint about how hard you can hit, its about how hard you can get hit and keep going” these are all things that still to this day are ingrained in me, that is not all bad because there are some amazingly inspirational quotes out there but I didn’t realise how much these thing shaped me. It made me ask myself “what else has been shaping me?”

So what I’m rabbling on about here is that I never thought of my submersion into amazing movies and hilarious TV having any sort of negative effect on me but I’m slowly realising why I behave the way I do and think this entrenchment in media could be part of it.

Bottom line, I’m not going to stop watching movies and TV but I will be looking at this stuff through a different lense of what reality is like and not let my mind run away with me like I previously have.

Leave a Reply

