“Why you gotta be so rude, don’t you know I’m human too…”

I loved this song so much when I first time I heard this, I loved the reggae beat with the soft rock vocals but like too many good songs recently it was ruined for me by local radio stations having only a few songs to play therefore overplaying and killing the enjoyment of this once good song. Anyway its the sentiment of this line that i want to talk about and not my anger at local radio, I believe that this poses a question that I am asking on a daily basis “Why are people so rude?”

I have experienced all types of rudeness directly and indirectly, i have been sworn at, called names, patronized, belittled, mocked, been shouted at, been ignored just to name a few but why do we treat each other this way in the immortal words of Tupac “We gotta change the way we treat each other, you see the old way wasn’t working so its on us to do what we gotta do to survive.”   Why in this society do we feel the need to put others down constantly? I thought that after High School all the social politics and being treated unfairly would stop but it didn’t then i thought when i move up the work ladder it will but it doesn’t it is jut this viscous circle of rudeness and put downs.

I recently started a job where I am managed by someone who is difficult to get along with as its a Jekyll and Hyde situation, one day all is good and work is appreciated and a good working relationship is enjoyed by all, the next it is walking on eggshells and trying to guess what is required of you on the instructions of “I just want this done”. I know that i cant be the only one that feels like this, I feel there is no need for consistent snappy behavior, Inconsistent instruction and decisions made out of the way you are feeling in the moment rather than level headed appropriate decisions.

For someone of my age i have worked in a lot of places and experienced this in every context, the retail industry, education, service industry, social work and sadly even the Church. So why must we be made to feel like this? I believe that for most of us who have experienced this can go one of two ways we can take the sadly less chosen path, which i strive to adhere to, “I will always treat people the way I would like to be treated” or we get into the mindset that Tupac was trying to get us out of and say “That’s just the way it is, Somethings will never change”

I really wish that i could round this short entry off with some tried and tested words of wisdom on how to deal with these types of situations/people but unfortunately I am still testing this one out and its difficult but im not going to stop doing it. it comes from Matthew 5:39 “You have heard that it was said, ‘AN EYE FOR AN EYE, AND A TOOTH FOR A TOOTH.’ 39“But I say to you, do not resist an evil person; but whoever slaps you on your right cheek, turn the other to him also.” Jesus faced the same crap that we had to but how did he respond? with grace and love, at the moment this is proving difficult because im frustrated, feel unfairly treated and annoyed and inconsistencies but im pretty sure Jesus faced much worse that my Jekyll and Hyde boss.

So to close Its all about Perspective, will you care about what is being said to you in a week/month/year, and Loving through the crap your going through because when you start resenting that is when you start your journey to “The Dark Side” and soon you become one of these people.

Leave a Reply

