“I like my chicken fried, cold beer on a Friday night, A pair of jeans that fit just right and the radio on…”

Ok so here is where I get to talk about one of my favorite things… Country Music! I love everything about it but specifically how unapologetically patriotic it is. I have shared before about my love for everything Red, White and Blue and I feel that as Brits we could learn a thing or two about being proud of who we are, from Country music. The messages throughout this genre are were not perfect but we know what we like, I am unashamed of who I am and proud of where I’m from and things that are real and simple are the best.

Country is about real things, don’t get me wrong I love rap but I cant remember the last time I “Got Krunk” or “Hit them corners” in my “Low Low”, Country talks about what and who every day people are not just the super rich with “$100,000 cars, everybody’s got ’em” Country is about the simple things in life that we can often take for granted and one of the reasons I love it so is that it causes me to be thankful for the small things that I love and not be jealous or frustrated about the things I don’t have. There is genuinely no other genre of music, other than Christian, that makes me thankful for what I have in my life, no other genre can stir up so much emotion up in me and make me cry at a beautiful story told to an enchanting melody (with a bit of fiddle thrown in for good measure).

A friend of mine recently thought that I said my favorite type of music was Country to be ironic and it got me thinking, Why does this appeal so much to me and the answer is that you can’t match the authentic rawness of country against empty pop beats, funky bass lines or even mind blowing guitar riffs because its the authenticity of real people with real highs and lows that will always win against flash in the pan hooks and repetitive synthesizers.

Leave a Reply

