“I’ll tell you one thing, We’re better together…”

This is an incredible song that never ceases to put me in a good mood, even after a long day this intro just sends me into a frenzy of relaxation (not sure that’s possible, but I’ve already typed it) this song not only relaxes but evokes so many memories for me. I first heard this song on my way to school in 2005, I very rarely remember where I first heard a song which just shows how exceptional this song is that not only did I remember where I heard it 10 years on but I can still recall the moment exactly, weird huh?

The message of this song is also incredible, I could get all deep and quote someone much smarter than me but to boil it down to its simplest form “Doing things together is better” #nuffsaid. This song really highlights the love for a man and a woman, but I think that this message can be applied to all areas at home, at work, on the field, on stage, etc. The belief that we can do everything on our own is a misguided Hollywood myth that so many of us can take so seriously but, unfortunately, were not all John Rambo, sometimes we need help. For a while I was always trying to “Rambo” most areas of my life, no I don’t mean knifing people in the shins with a homemade bear trap, I would try and do everything solo and not only is it lonely but it’s hard work too.

I think I had a warped view of working as part of a team I felt that it would be people coasting on my good ideas and taking credit but the 9 times out of 10, in my experience, the reason people want to be on your team is because the want to help or learn. I heard a great quote this week that has totally made me view working as part of a team in a totally new light “Teamwork is what the Green Bay Packers were all about. They didn’t do it for individual glory. They did it because they loved one another.” – Vince Lombardi.

This made me think wouldn’t it be awesome if we all took the Green Bay approach to teamwork rather than the Rambo approach, imagine what that would look like. I think that, to quote my wife, “teamwork make the task go better!” when we can shake off this need for personal glory and share victories with others while being developed and helping others develop along the way we can “make the task go better”.

Leave a Reply

